2018 Outstanding Achievement Award

Medical Technology Association of Australia (MTAA) invites nominations for the 2018 Outstanding Achievement Award. This industry award recognises an individual who has contributed in an exceptional way to the medical technology industry in Australia. This may be evidenced through their contribution to the industry development, improvement in patient outcomes or excellence in leadership or innovation. Nominations are accepted regardless of membership of the Association.


The Outstanding Achievement Award began in 2014 as an acknowledgment to the people within our industry and the benefit they bring to improve health outcomes of their customers.

Past Outstanding Achievement Award recipients include:

2017: Dr Elisa Mokany, Speedx
2016: Chelsea Cornelius, PeriCoach (Analytica)
2015: Tanya Hall, Hearts4Heart
2014: Professor Karen Reynolds, Medical Device Partnering Program, Flinders University

2018 Key dates

1st October – Nominations close (5pm AEST)
15th October – Finalists notified
7th November – Winner awarded at the MedTech18 dinner


  • Entries will be accepted from any individual involved in the medical technology industry primarily in Australia
  • Entries must be submitted via the nomination form and signed by the proposer
  • Entries must include a brief biography of the nominee, of no more than 200 words in length
  • Entries must address the criteria and each response to the criteria must be no more than 300 words in length.
  • Entries may include photographs and other supporting documentation.
  • The decision of the judging panel is final and no further correspondence about the decision of the judging panel will be entered into.


The nomination must satisfy the following criteria:

  • Evidence of significant contribution to the industry
  • Evidence of contribution to the improvement of patient outcomes
  • Evidence of excellence in leadership and innovation

NB: Nominations are accepted regardless of membership of the Association.

How it's judged

The judging panel is independent of MTAA. It consists of a maximum of five individuals from around Australia, each of whom is selected for their expertise in medical technology, academia, and research or represents a health professional or consumer perspective. The judging panel will choose three finalists from the nominations received and they will be invited to attend the MTAA conference dinner where the winner will be announced.

How to nominate

To nominate, complete the form below and submit your confidential application by 14 September 2018.

Your Details

Nominee Details

Supporting Evidence

Include evidence supporting your the claims to secretary@mtaa.org.au - quote the name of the individual and mention Outstanding Achievement Award in the subject line. Photographs may be submitted.

Your information will remain secured, confidental and not shared with any third parties